There are strict Federal and State guidelines to owning and possessing Firearms.
We are required to abide by these rules.
To purchase a gun in California, the following conditions must be met:
This applies to any type of gun made after 1898 that fires a fixed cartridge.
This applies to certain modern muzzle loaders also.
1. Valid California Real ID or Driver's license (IF the ID or Driver's License says 'Federal Limits Apply' on the top right corner, you must also provide a valid US passport or birth certificate that shows the same names as the ID or Driver's License).
2. Ten (10) day waiting period.
3. $37.19 for gun registration as well as background check
4 .Clean criminal and mental health record
5. Firearm Safety Certificate
-This means that you will need to pass a 30-question test in the store to receive this certificate.
There is a $25 fee and it is valid for five years. This certificate is required unless you carry one of the following exemptions:
- Active or Retired peace officer
- Active or Retired military
- Peculiar and limited authority peace officer (Guard Card)
- Carry Concealed Weapons permit for CA. Out of state CCWs are not recognized in CA
- Certified firearms instructors
- FFL holders
- For Long Guns ( Shotguns, Rifles, Receivers), a valid Hunting License will work as an exemption.
6. All handgun purchases require proof of residency. The following are valid forms:
a. DMV Registration
b. Term Lease agreement
c. Utility bill within the last 90 days.
d. Property Deed.
e. California issued licensed with expiration date (In addition to CDL or CID)
f. Valid Annual Hunting License/ Valid Annual Fishing License
Special Note: If your current address DOES NOT match the address on your CDL or CID then you must provide proof of residency regardless of what type of firearm you purchase. This MUST be Government issued. DMV Registration, Valid Annual Hunting License or Valid Annual Fishing License are the easiest proofs of residency to obtain.
8. When you purchase or pick up your firearm, you will need to perform a safety demonstration with the gun you are purchasing in the store.
This requires that you follow all safety rules, checking to see that the firearm is unloaded, removing a trigger lock from the gun, loading a dummy round into the gun and chambering the round, and unloading and relocking the firearm.
9. Before leaving the store, you MUST have a California approved lock box, cable lock, or trigger lock on your firearm.
10. You will need to have your right thumbprint taken (this is done in the store).
Other important rules:
Firearm must be picked up within 30 days of purchase. If the firearm is not picked up within 30 days, the store is required by law to resubmit the individual information to CA DOJ and an additional fee of $47.19 applies.
If the firearm is not picked up within the 30 days of purchase, a storage fee of $5.00 per day is imposed.
Only one NEW handgun can be purchased every 30 days. This restriction does not apply to long guns.
If a person does not pass the background test or if they change their mind on the purchase, a $137.19 cancellation fee is charged ($37.19 for the non-refundable DROS fee and $100 for the stores re-stocking policy).
If DOJ cannot determine a buyer's eligibility, the buyer status will be considered undetermined. In the event of an undetermined status, the buyer will get a refund EXCEPT for the DROS processing fee ($37.19). If an FSC test was taken, that too will not be refunded.
It is the responsibility of the firearm purchaser to know if they are eligible to purchase a firearm. They can go to the CA DOJ website for more information or to begin the self-check procedure.
We DO NOT do internet transfers so please don't use us as your FFL for internet transfers even if the website/company you are ordering from has us listed as a store to ship to.
For Military Personnel stationed in California. If you do not have a California ID or Driver License, then you must provide your out of state ID or Driver License, Military ID, and a copy of your orders. You can bring the original orders and we can make a copy in the store.
Regarding Private Party Transfers
All private party transfers will only be accepted before 3:00 pm of each day.
Guns must come in a case or a case must be bought in store at the expense of the owner or transferee.
All Rifles that have a "California Bullet Button" or equivalent must have a ten round magazine with the gun or the transfer will not be accepted. If there are magazines available for sale you may buy one in store.
From the transferee we will need proof of California residency (Driver's License or ID), Firearm Safety Certificate or an exemption, as well as secondary proof of residency as stated above. From the seller we will need proof of California residency. If any of the parties doing a transfer are a permanent resident then the permanent residency card must be presented as well.
If the transferee fails to pick up the gun in the allotted time (30 days from the date of transfer) both parties will have to return to the store and resubmit paperwork for the transfer. In addition a 5$ per day fee will be enforced for the storage of the gun past the allotted 30 days.
If the transferee is denied on his firearm purchase, then the original seller of the firearm will have to come back for the gun provided they are eligible to own firearms. In the event the buyer is denied a background check will be conducted on the seller to ensure eligibility.
All private party transfer fees must be paid in CASH at time of service, NOT pickup. The fee is $37.19 for the state DROS fee PLUS $10 for each gun that is being transferred (ex. If 1 gun is being transferred, the fee would be $47.19)